How far of a distance is a safe distance to pull a single axle trailer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wechter

Hello to everyone here -- I'm a newbie, thanks for taking my question.

So I've a KZ Sportsmen 16' - 19' from tongue to rear. It's a single axle trailer and I was wondering if there is some type of limit as to how far one can travel before seeing things like heated hubs or some other related issue.

The plan is to pull from ST Pete, FL to Stone Mountain, GA using my trusty old 2002 Tundra - didn't know if I would have to stop along the way or not?

Probably not a very smart question - but a question none-the less. :)

Thanks - Jay

Welcome to the forum.
You can tow that trailer as far as you want as long as you have good bearings and they are properly greased.

Given the proper tire size and properly packed wheel bearings the limit in the USA is about 3,000 miles... Then you flood your tow vehicle (As in drive off the beach into the ocean type flood"

No practical limt.. But you may wish to have the bearings checked every few thousand miles for re-packing. Not sure how many thousand...

NOTE: the smaller the tire, the more heat in the bearing.. larger tires run cooler.

Back in the 1970's I pulled a boat trailer that had 8 inch wheels to Texas, via S. California and Kansas, about a 3,000 mile trip.  I repacked the bearings twice on the trip.  Each time, the bearings were beginning to get dry but no harm was done.  Those little 8 inch tires spun many rounds in 1000 miles.  The larger the tire, the less revolutions it makes.  I'd recommend repacking the bearings on a 15 inch wheel at least ever 10 to 12,000 miles.  I've let mine go 12,000 a few times and they were beginning to get dry, but no harm was done.

Very good advise above.