SCAM or BOGUS Warning - Avast FREE Anti Virus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SilvrT

I have been using Avast FREE A/V for many, many years and I've installed in on many computers over those years. It has always served me well .... until recently.

A couple weeks ago I noticed a charge against my credit card in the amount of $49.95 from Avast-Nexway. WHAT??? Apparently for renewing my subscription to their full version.

So I did some investigating and discovered I was not the only one getting charged for something they did not purchase from this company.

How they got my cc info is beyond me as I never, ever purchased their product nor did I ever provide them with my cc info.

What I found out is apparently when you go download the free version, somewhere there is a indiscriminate check box signing you up for their full version. Again, how they get the cc info I don't know but they did.

So my friends, be warned .... this could happen to you.

Meanwhile, I have disputed it and have been reimbursed. I've also removed Avast from my computer and have purchased and installed Kaspersky with NO automatic renewal.

On top of that I've had my cc cancelled and replaced with a new one (different account #). That is a pain because now I have to go and update all accounts that legitimately auto-renew as well as places like PayPal, Amazon, etc. etc.

Great Horned Owl said:
Another good free one is AVG. I've been using it for about 12 years, an a number of different computer. I've never had the slightest problem. They too, have an "advanced" version that you can buy, but I've never felt the need.

See http://www.avg.com/ppc/ww-en/protection-ultimate-vs-free?dsc=4wf&d=20&h2=20&subh2=20&ECID=ad:go:se:US-EN-XSite-Brand-Search&gclid=CJjtwqTo3dACFdcagQodjyoGRA.

Joel