Electrical tinting as smart windows in motorhomes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vlerickMC

Dear RVers,
I am a student at Vlerick Management School in belgium and was assigned to work on feasibility of electrical tintable windows (smart windows) in motorhomes. I don't have an RV and can only dreaming of having one some day, so I will need your expert opinion.

My project is on windows that can be tinted electronically, unlike current tinted glass or tinting by film, which is permanent regardless of the day/weather. The idea is to allow control of sunlight during various season, such as allowing more sunlight during winter to warm the room, or blocking more sunlight/heat during a hot summer day. The electrically tinted window has a preservation of view, meaning that you can still see outside with high clarity (no haziness). Such typical windows can be electrically controlled (with small batteries, <3V) to be in the range of 5%-70% transmittance.

The technology is emerging and has been offered in other area such as architectural skylights (e.g. by Velux USA) or as sunroof (e.g. in 2005 Ferrari SuperAmerica). The initial indication shows that such product is to be very expensive, in the early stage, and as volume increases it will get cheaper.
The following links give an example:
For sunroof: http://www.saint-gobain-sekurit.com/en/index.asp?nav1=PR&id=372http://www.saint-gobain-sekurit.com/en/index.asp?nav1=PR&id=372
For skylight: http://www.veluxusa.com/products/accessories/glazingOptions/sageglass/