diesel generator vs propane

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

patnernie

Could someone educate us as to why the new sprinter diesel vans don't come with diesel generators - we are thinking of buying a pleasure way plateau but would like to shop a lilttle more - haven't seen the roadtrek yet -thank you

Diesel generators tend to be large and heavy, and perhaps the manufacturers don't want to use up any more payload than they have to.  A smaller gas or propane generator is easier to mount.

Hello,

I have over 5 years experience with selling and fixing generators, and can answer your question.

An LPG Generator is a Gas/Petrol generator that has been converted to accept LP Gas. If it has been converted after manufacture it is hard to calculate without actually running it, but it does work out much cheaper and more efficient, but as it is build to use gas, in the long term it can wear the engine differently from gas.

So make sure you regularly service the unit, clean the spark plug and change the oil.

Diesel Generator will have a longer life span as diesel has such a high oil content (lubricates the engine), but due to the frequency they turn over at, they are louder and vibrate much more.

I have made a website about generators called www.whatgenerator.com this might also help you decide.

Thanks

Styles Beagley
www.whatgenerator.com
www.generatorguru.com

patnernie said:
Could someone educate us as to why the new sprinter diesel vans don't come with diesel generators - we are thinking of buying a pleasure way plateau but would like to shop a lilttle more - haven't seen the roadtrek yet -thank you

I suspect cost is the driving factor and as Ned mentioned weight.

but due to the frequency they turn over at, they are louder and vibrate much more.