Hamming on the road and at home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carson

I know there are a bunch of us "Hams" out there on the road. Would like to start a little thread here to see who, what, where etc.

I am an active operator here in Florida. I am using an old Kenwood xcvr on either 12V or 110 AC, great for mobiling. Also have 2m gear. None of it is yet installed in the rig but I am working on it.

Would be intersted in reading about antenna ideas for Class A MH.
Anyone check in on the various nets?, etc.

I should be able to figure it out by myself; have been hamming since 1958. But I am always in a learning mode, so let's hear from some of you.

carson FL  82.9F

I run a TM-733 (kenwood) next to the driver it feeds a DIAMOND dual band antenna on the mirror on the right side of the rig

In the Ham Shack (AKA front head on my bath and a half) I have a TS-2000, it feeds an assortment of home made antennas

Ant-1 is a Kenwood random wire antenna tuner, it can get a standard CB whip (Wire wound fiberglass) A pole (3 copper pipes and another CB whip) or a long wire either thrown trees or hung from a balloon  I'm working on another solution as well.

High bands feed antennas that go on top of a flagpole  I'm thinking about some alternative antennas for that post

Hi John,
  Looks like you have the gamut, spectrum wise. Nice rigs.
My Kenwood TS-520 was one of the first Japanese Radios hitting the North American market back in the mid 70's. Have had it since new and it has nevver hiccuped yet. Used it on all modes: SSB, RTTY and CW, and now on PSK31. In July/75 I purchased the unit along with a Larsen mobile antenna system with 3 resonators, an Icom IC-22A 2-meter rig.....all for C$ 1000.00.

The Ic 22 became obsolete when the channel separation changed to 5 khz from 10.
  I now have a new IC-2200H--2m 50W.