Weight distribution hitches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Snowman

I was at a reputable local rv sales shop today and priced out a WDH. They recommended a blueOx rated at 3000-5000lbs at about $1000. I later called van and truck world and their price on a Reese hitch was $450. What would cause such a drastic swing in price between the two? Didn't see much of a difference.

Personally I feel that the Anderson does not look as rigid a some of the other brands. That is just from what I see in pictures. I have no experience with W.D.H or towing for that matter, I will look in it further.

Snowman said:
I was at a reputable local rv sales shop today and priced out a WDH. They recommended a blueOx rated at 3000-5000lbs at about $1000. I later called van and truck world and their price on a Reese hitch was $450. What would cause such a drastic swing in price between the two? Didn't see much of a difference.

As it turns out, perhaps that "reputable" local dealer is not reputable at all?..$500 over most of the popular "affordable" hitch set ups??

Pull up ETrailer dot com......they have many selections, will answer your questions and have stellar reviews about customer service.

Is your truck "trailer ready" with the hitch receiver, electrical wiring and brake controller already in place?  If not, the RV shop was likely including these items in the price of their hitch package.

The prices you'll see online are just for the hitch itself, if you need the rest of the stuff they'll add to the finished price.

I do have the rest of the system. Class three hitch and break controller. This is WDH alone.

Snowman said:
I do have the rest of the system. Class three hitch and break controller. This is WDH alone.

A couple of questions.......
1.  What is the GVW rating of the trailer that you are wanting to pull