Improving Diesel Engine Performance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
F

fijidad

Any recommendations for improving the performance of my Cummins ISC350, such as a Banks system or propane injection?

http://bankspower.com/techarticles/show/23-Propane-&-the-Diesel

http://www.dieselperformanceproducts.com/faq.html

The diesel tuners/chips (sometimes called "programmers") get a lot of attention. I have no experience or wisdom to offer concerning them, though.
http://www.thoroughbreddiesel.com/programmers.htm
http://www.xtremediesel.com/index.aspx

I heard from a Banks Sales Rep who said the Banks Double Shot Water Methanol System is the only thing they have to offer for this Cummins engine....at $1,665.

I'll have to check their web page to see what improvements I can expect for that expenditure.  Dan

I think that is right, re Banks anyway.

I think you will find that any of the performance enhancement upgrades are pricey for relatively small gain. The electronic-control, fuel injected RV diesels are already highly power efficient, and they are also limited in how much additional power they can handle (mechanically). The engines are already rated at higher hp and torque in RV applications, so there isn't a lot more room like there is on lower-powered configurations of the same engine block. You may also encounter hp & torque limits at the transmission and driveline, but you probably have an Allison 3000 tranny and that is rated above anything an ISC can hope to reach at a reasonable price. Most 3000's of your era are rated for 1200 lb-ft and 400 hp.

I installed a programmer in my Ford F-250 only after I installed a turbo boost gauge, a pre-turbo exhaust temperature Gauge, a cool air intake, conical high flow air filter, and a 6" exhaust.  It was still easy to get the turbo temperature into the red zone going up some steep hills.