Buying RV from UK or Australia and Importing to USA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dara

Has anyone imported an RV into the US?  I was just checking out the Bailey Pegasus Caravan/https://youtu.be/m4YrKIjvYX4 travel trailer.  I love all the windows. So bright inside.  I can't seem to find a comparable one made here in the US.  Unless someone else can think of a US made one with super cool windows, please advise.  Other than that, i'm sure it's a few thousand to import.

I have no experience of the rv scene in the USA. Booked our first 6 months camping adventure starting 30 April.

But have plenty of experience of outback Australia having travelled over 150.000 km mainly off the bitumen and as a Kiwi have seen more of Australia than the average Australian.
The caravan as shown on the Youtube clip would not last 5 minutes if one wanted to see the real Australia.

As for the USA, I would think that if you stay mainly on the seal as appears to be the case when I watch all the You tube footage, why not stick with a home made unit rather than an import. Support the local economy and have better back up service, surely.

cheers, Case

The first obstacle would be to find out if it can meet the US emissions and safety standards or be modified to do so. It won't be a cheap process by any means...

in addition to emissions and safety, there would also be the issue of converting the electrical system (UK = 240V/50Hz, US = 120V/60Hz), and UK TVs won't work on the US TV system.

Another big issue is likely to be the hitch I think the UK uses a very different connector than the common US ball hitch system and I am not sure it meets US regulations.  You also would likely have to replace side markers and turn signal lights to meet us trailer lighting requirements which are fairly specific.  Beyond that there may be other issues with weight ratings.