Understanding Trojan T105 and charging them

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

utahkp

Bare with me please, I am new to this. I have 2 T105 batteries. Its winter time here in Utah, and I have take the batteries out and I have them hooked to a battery charger at the moment. They are in basement, where its about 70 degrees.  My garage would have been 40 degrees. One problem, is the charger only puts out 6Amps, so i know this will take a while. Its a 2/4/6 amp charger. I understand I need to charge them to 14.7V. I am confused about the 14.7 Is that the end voltage after charging or the voltage i need to reach while the charger is attached?. So, if I remove charger, let them rest of 6-12 hours connected to nothing. Should it then read 14.7V or if not, then what voltage should it read? Before I put the charger on this morning, it read 12.77 volts. About 20 min after having it on, it reads 14.4.

I am concerned that I might over-charge these. Also, I noticed a small amount of blackness on the positive terminals. Does this mean I damaged them somehow? These batteries were new last summer.

I am excited for the summer to test these. I bought the morningstar TS-45 near the end of the season. I barely got it hooked up, and a few days later put the cover over my 5th wheel. I have 2, 100W panels on the roof. I think I measured 17V coming into the charge controller.

I plan on getting a specific gravity reader too, I read that it is more accurate. I saw some article on C20 or something. Honestly, it was very confusing to me.

Any guidance on this topic is much appreciated!!