Keep dump valves open when connected in parked spot to dump station?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

captaindomon

If you are parked for a week or so in an RV park, with city water and a dedicated dump station at the parking spot, do you just keep the black and grey dump valves open? So it's like you are in a house on-grid? Or do you close the black for example to let it fill up, and then just open the valves once a day? I'm new to this whole thing but my thoughts are to keep the grey water valve open but let the black fill up before dumping it so you don't get things stuck in the tank.

Any help appreciated :)

Keep the grey open and the black closed. If you keep the black open there is not enough liquid to push the solids out so you end up with the dreaded poop pyramid which is a bitch to get rid of and it smells.

SeilerBird said:
Keep the grey open and the black closed. If you keep the black open there is not enough liquid to push the solids out so you end up with the dreaded poop pyramid which is a bitch to get rid of and it smells.

I would add this - we do keep the grey open if hooked up, except about 1-2 days before leaving. I then close the grey to start filling the grey tank in preparation for dumping the black. I like to have a nearly full grey tank to get a nice flush of hoses after dumping black.

Sun2Retire said:
I would add this - we do keep the grey open if hooked up, except about 1-2 days before leaving. I then close the grey to start filling the grey tank in preparation for dumping the black. I like to have a nearly full grey tank to get a nice flush of hoses after dumping black.
Good point S2R. I am permanently parked so I never considered doing that.

I do the same as Sun2Retire, and on two different trailers over twenty years I have never had the black tank clog up!

jack L