Question about grey and black water tanks.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Angry_mammoth

Hello all, thanks advance for the help. I have question about waste water tanks. I currently own pop but am thinking of upgrading to a travel trailer. It comes with bathroom and therefore has tanks. I've never used one before so I'm looking for some clarification.

If I'm at a campground that has full hookups and I connect the waste hose to the connection on the campsite does the waste water still collect in the tanks first or does it go directly into the site septic? Meaning do I still need to clean tanks after the trip if I use a direct hookup? And is there anything I should know beforehand about waste tanks from seasoned RVers?

Thanks again for the help.

Well you can do it both ways but most folks keep the valves closed to allow enough contents to build up in the tank that when they DUMP it DUMPS with force, flushing all the "Stuff" the tank.

First dump black, then close that valve and dump gray.

NOTE: There are a whole bunch of companies willing to sell you expensive and useless chemicals to put in the tank to prevent "Stink".. well I have found that "Stink" is more likely to come up out of the hole in the ground via an open valve than from the tanks on the RV.  So unless you always "Water trap" your lines (Not legal in some places,, well one that I knwo of ) keeping the valves closed is the best way to prevent that stink.  Have had "Stink" issues 3 times. once in a building, (The traps were dry) and twice when I forgot to close a valve.