looking for info on best tow rig for my family and camper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yogi

Hello i'm new to this and i'm hoping someone can help me. I have a 2011 flagstaff 30wtbs currently towing with f 150 and wife follows me with the rest of the family. Need something that seats 8 and tows my camper. kids are small for now.

Ford E350 passanger van would be darn near ideal. Just dont get one of the extended ones as they are prone to handling problems.

I heard the Nissan Armada were a good tow rig. Any idea on that.

For 8 people? Please!
If you want to haul 8 get the correct vehicle.  An 8 passanger full sized van will accomodate the family and tow a reasonable sized trailer.  SUVs might in a pinch handle the family, but once the family is on board you will have ZERO left over capacoty for hitch weight.

That TT gross weight is 8,000lbs, even lightly loaded it will be around 7,000lbs. Just to handle the hitch weight you need a 2500/250 Truck minimum. So towing that with a F150 is deadly at best. You need a HD/SD Crew cab min. or that One Ton van.

Yogi  Welcome to the Forum!

First, you are fine towing a 8,000# TT with your F150 since you are the only passenger.  Your F150 will be carrying you (150#?), 80# WD hitch, 100# misc stuff and 800# hitch wt = 1050# - certainly well below your max payload.

I hate to say it, but your current setup may well be the best for your family.

To evaluate a new tow vehicle, DO NOT look at published Max Tow Capacity.  It does not include any passengers past a driver and one passenger @ 150# each.

Add up the weight of all family members (5 year from now weights?), all car seats, kid entertainment, snacks, diaper bags, tools and anything else carried in the vehicle.  Add 80# for a WD hitch.  Add 800# hitch weight for the TT.  The PAYLOAD of the vehicle must exceed this number.