Land wanted for 55-and-over RV community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
builderman said:
. . . but please, explain to me what this is all about. Thanks.

From the responses, you pretty much get the picture on SCal -- or most anywhere in CA. I have been a CA resident since the early '60's. Was born in PA, grew up in KY did Navy time in VA, spring breaks in college in FL, took my first job in CO -- and would find it hard to compare "anywhere" I've lived or traveled to the beauty of NCal. Unfortunately, the things that drew me to CA other than my work brought tons of others and that has ruined it for all of us now.

If someone bought property at the right time, they are either property rich now (even after taxes), or have since sold and made a fortune that enabled them to buy a small mansion in other states w/lower tax bases. Very few can buy now because the prices are just too high. Even land all the way out in the Central Valley around I5 is sky rocketing as folk are having commute from that far out into the Bay Area -- and that same thing is happening in SCal for all coastal cities.

I purchased a used MH in Austin a little over a year ago -- and was given X number dollars for my trade-in. Texas did not charge sales tax on that portion of the sale price of the newer rig. Once I crossed the border (at Needles) on my return to NCal the CA tax clock began ticking. I had 20 days to register the MH in CA. Each day past 20 days there would be a 45% penalty. AND, I then had to pay 7.75% sales tax on the value of the trade in. Only two other states charge tax again on an asset that was taxed when purchased.