planning a 5th wheel puchase!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

clinter35

I'm brand new to rv'ing and trying to make a decision.  I'm wanting to purchase a 1 to 2yr old 5th wheel between 26-30ft.  I've always heard there good manufactures and bad; well, there's my problem.  I anyone would be kind enough to tell me what to stay away from and what will make a good dependable rv.  Thanks clinter

You might want to buy into the RVCG.com listings.  Some of the folks do not like them but I found it helpful with weights, handling and purpose.  I'd also find an RV event near you and talk to some of the seasoned folks who will give you good info.  This forum if you review some of the postings will be very educational identifying problem rigs and elements within the rigs that have problems.  I think buying used is wise as the depreciation curve is significant in those first two years.  Check all the systems on a used rig.  My first 5r was 6 years old and I had a blow out on one of the original tires.  It did a lot of damage and at that time I had no idea about tire life.  It also seems like a 2-3 year old rig has had the problems fixed and therefore has less than a new one if it has been cared for.  Identify what you are going to do with the rig.  A vacationing rig is a lot different than a full time rig so purchase to suit your needs.  We just finished our research for a fulltime rig and a lot of this is pretty fresh with us.  Good luck with your research and welcome to the RV World.  Lots of people here with great experience to which I am indebted.
Phil 

Clinter