20 Amp and A/C ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DebElliott

I am new to these message boards and Im thankful I found you 'all.  I'm not sure if I can stay here for the summer if I can't prevent heat exhaustion.  Im in a class c conversion van.  late 80's model.  I'd like to know if I can run the air conditioner. 

I'd like to know if using my a/c on 20 amp will do harm.  I disconnected the electric hot water heater which takes 7 amps.  I have the a/c dial all the way up to prevent cycling.  I can reduce the dorm fridge if necessary.  I have only my laptop and cable internet plugged in.  The A/C on the roof is fairly new but it's wired inside and plugged into one of the wall socket.  It has tripped the fuse box when I had the fridge and hot water heater going And the dial set low that caused cycling where it went dead as the compressor was coming on.    Should I try to use it or move where I can get 30 amps?   

Also,  I was told by kind people here that I can power the 8000 portable free standing a/'c on 15 amps.  It's an alternative to blowing circuits.  The wiring here is over 50 years old.    Kind regards, 

You can run an A/C on it's highest or lowest temp setting on a 20 amp circuit without a problem. Just don't run anything else. When you need hot water turn off the A/C and turn on the hot water heater for 15 minutes. Then take your shower, turn off the hot water heater and turn the A/C back on. But make sure the cord that runs from the RV to the power outlet is at least a 14 amp cord and not more than 25 feet.