Travel Trailer size question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

accordionman

I'm a real newbie ( just recently purchased my F 250 with a 6.7 Diesel; in the process of installing an aux tank in the bed, after which I will start in earnest looking for a TT.

So here is the issue. My wife and I have done quite a bit of looking at new TT's and 5ers to get some of idea of what we do and do not like, can and cannot afford. Although the balls are still up in the air between TT's and 5ers, I'm leaning heavily towards a TT. Size wise, we found while looking that we felt 28-30 feet seemed to be the most comfortable for us. I have been looking at used units and feel that I am finding that many used units on line tend to be 32 ft or longer and 26 feet and shorter. Of course, in used ads by owners, you don't always know if the footage they quote is external o/a or internally. I feel like I should draw a line somewhere. I don't know however, what my overall max should be. We intend to travel 5 weeks or so annually in 1 week increments initially. I have seen some RV parks limit size to 30 foot, but being a newbie, am not sure if that is prevalent at many sites or is rare; is it o/a size or internal ? Is towing a 32 footer going to be dramatically different than towing a 28 footer ? I suspect the type of truck makes a difference also, but I think I have that covered.

I need the collective expertise of this forum to help me with some of these questions. I have already rcvd an education in RVing from the info on this forum and thankful to having found you folks. On this subject, any and all input into this would be appreciated.

Simple enough questions but all involve value judgments, so hard to answer.