Class C Cabover Rebuild

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emmaa

Hi all - I'm new here! 18 years old and just bought my first RV for $1500 -- it's a '94 Tioga Montara. The reason I got it so cheap is because the entire cab is water damaged. I've been scouring the forums and everything else I can find on the internet about rebuilding it and have gotten lots of good ideas so far -- I don't think that the inside will be much of a problem to rebuild (watch those words come back to bite me!) but the outside is really looking bad. I'll attach some photos, but the short of it is that it's looking like I'm going to have to replace the fiberglass on the outside because the bottom of the cab is detaching from the sides. What would be my best options for materials (sheet metal? fiberglass?) and sealing the seams (Eternabond?) I've never done anything like this before so it will definitely be a learning experience. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• image1 (3).JPG
    image1 (3).JPG
    90.5 KB · Views: 164
  • image2 (2).JPG
    image2 (2).JPG
    91 KB · Views: 124
Emmaa, I'm the one you emailed about my cabover rebuild.  As mentioned, my website is being moved to a blog and is not ready for viewing yet, but I'll try to help you if I can.

First, the photos of your RV are almost duplicates of what I encountered.  I'm afraid you are in for a major job and is probably only financially feasible if you have tools, DIY skills, work space and, maybe, a bit of foolhardiness.

The bunk construction of a typical cabover (class C) makes a perfect water collection space because the outside skin traps the water and holds it there until rotting of the wooden portions of the structure cause things to come apart.  Just like yours has done.

Here's some photos of what I encountered.  I think you'll find yours to be much the same.

Attachments

• 2010_09_10_18_14_44s.jpg