EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Adding Navy Berthing Racks as Bunks  (Read 338 times)

Jacoblag

• ---
Adding Navy Berthing Racks as Bunks
« on: June 03, 2018, 12:48:56 PM »
Hi everyone, I am brand new to RVing and am contemplating getting a fifth wheel / toy hauler to live in with my family of 7 for a few months.  With a family of this size, I'm concerned about sleeping space. I would rather avoid having any kids sharing beds (this revelation came last night while putting two of my daughters down who share a bunk bed; the youngest couldn't sleep because her sister was "breathing too loud", which caused her to scream and thus drown out any actual sound her sister was making...).

In trying to think of creative ways of solving this problem, I fell back on my experience in the Navy and wondered whether it was feasible to install berthing from a Navy ship. Obviously weight is a large concern. How much do Bunks usually weigh? What would be the upper limit on weight that you would consider?

If you're fortunate enough to be unfamiliar with Navy Berthing, you can see what I'm talking about here: http://ussnewjersey.com/images/rect62-22.jpg

Thanks!

Jacoblag

• ---
Re: Adding Navy Berthing Racks as Bunks
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2018, 01:01:19 PM »
As a point of reference, the "shipping weight" of a triple bunk is 455 lbs.

HappyWanderer

• ---
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2018, 01:21:55 PM »
The kids will get used to sharing beds. We traveled all over the country with eight people in a pop-up.

Everyone slept just fine.
WARNING: This post may contain a chemical known to the State of California to cause cancer, or birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Pugapooh

• ---
  • Wanna buy a truck?
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2018, 02:36:41 PM »