Generator or not?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Baddog

All,
I am a newbie and looking at Grand Design 5th wheel.  I was planning on buying a generator to have in the back of the truck but didn't realize you could actually get them already on board with a 5th wheel.  Now the question?  Not familiar with propane generators.  Do they work okay from a readability stand point or is it one of those items where you ask yourself why you spent the money?  I don't see a lot of use for the generator as I am not planning to do much boon docking, but it sure would be handy to already be on board.

I think GD sells an Onan 5.5kw LP Generator if bought with trailer.

Suggestions?  Better off getting LP generator in the trailer or just getting something a lot cheaper to set in bed of truck?

Thanks....Ricky

I finally figured out the search thing and see this topic has been heated in the past.  :D

I think the reliability question was answered in the search but would still love to hear pros / cons of the LP versus putting a gas generator in the back of a truck if folks don't mind responding to a topic that has threads close to the same topic in the past.

Peopane Generators suck a LOT of propane.. I have seen Gasoline generators on a 5ER, they use Marine type tanks (like for an outboard motor) .

Do you need a generator.. I recommend a portable in many cases.. WHY

Well in addition to the RV you should have a proper INLET and generator transfer panel put on the house.. That way when the power company lets you down.. You still have a "Back up plan"  A very nice one.. I suggest a pair parallellable Inverter generatorws 2000 watts or better or at single inverter job in the 3-4 thousand watt range.

ONLY put 120 volt devices on the transfer panel (NO Central A/C. ELectric Range or Cloths Dryer)