travel trailer hitch,weight distrubution hitch??Help or overkill???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimmy87903

I have a Fleetwood mallard 18 c/k 2007 model.The trailer is 22' in length,I pull this trailer with a 2000 Chevrolet 1500 4x4 z-71 pickup.The gvwr on this unit is 5600lbs,uvw is 3690,ccc is 1517.The tounge weight is around 350 lbs on this unit and I'm usually loaded on the heavy side.I know this is a very small travel trailer but would a weight distribution hitch with sway control be any advantage?I could possibly go a little larger on my tt down the road,maybe up to a 26' ultra light and a weight hitch there would definitely be a advantage.I drive a tractor trailer for a living and know the ins and outs of towing and will never out power my truck with too small a vehicle but also want the correct setup to do it.This unit pulls good on major highways at 55,but on the interstate at 65 or 70 its a little different.I will also add my travel trailer is level on my hitch within a inch to inch and a half,I was thinking a wd hitch might help me dial this in a little closer also.If anybody has any opinions they would be appreciated,Im currently looking at a curt sway control kit,or the same brand wd at a rating of 7500lbs.Thx

jimmy87903 said:
The tounge weight is around 350 lbs on this unit and I'm usually loaded on the heavy side.

Based on this comment alone I'm guessing your tongue weight is more in the neighborhood of 500 - 600 lbs. I'd say a WD hitch couldn't hurt. We towed a 3500 lb GVWR popup for 2 years that pulled fairly well but it had a lot of tongue weight due to a "garage" up front. Our 7,000 lb TT with a WD hitch actually towed much easier.

Do you notice a fish tailing of the trailer when you are passed by a Semi out on the Interstate?

When you are in a crosswind situation do you feel the trailer trying to move the truck?