Insulation Claims

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

butchiiii

Sorry folks, We are full of questions today. The Montana FWs claim to be 4 season ready. Is this true
or just marketing hype. See their mfg brochure claim below.

Tested and approved for 0 degree usage since 2005
    Wire & frame for 3rd A/C
    (R-38 Equivalent) Radiant technology insulated roof
    (R-21) Insulated main floor
    (R-15) Insulated slideout floors
    (R-11) Insulated sidewalls
    Vented attic
    Insulated and heated holding tanks and dump valves
    Enclosed and heated low point drains
    12v electric tank heaters
    Insulated in-floor water lines
    3? x 14? Residential in-floor straight line heat duct system
Thanks once again for all of the input.
Butch & Joanna

My wife and I have been researching 5th wheels for 3-4 years and, while in the beginning I paid close attention to all of those numbers, I finally came to the conclusion that it was, as you said, mostly "marketing hype". A lot of heat, or cold, transfers through the windows anyway but they all proclaim their's to be the best. An example is that Cedar Creek proclaims most every thing that Montana does but their numbers are:
R-38 roof
R-38 underbelly
R-38 front & end cap and
R-7 home insulation "inside" the sidewall (total R-9).
There seems to be a relative consensus among the owners that one of the only brands that stands out from the rest is Arctic Fox. I wouldn't want to live in any of them in 0 degree weather.
Bob

prfcdoc said: