New to camping ..need some expert advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nagkandala

Hi fellas,
This forum is exactly what i was looking for
i have never done RVing or camping before but damn interested
i did my own research on RVS and decided to buy a truck camper

please advise whats the best truck camper which fits a half ton truck ( wanna buy a truck as minimum size as possible actually)
i like to have shower/toilet for sure in that

Please advise and pardon for my ignorance

Thanks
Nag

Please do not apologize for your ignorance. There is only one reason for online forums to exist and that is to help other people with their questions and problems. There is a large amount of lurkers (people who read but do not register and ask questions) on every forum and if you have a question there are probably dozens of other people with the same question but are too shy to ask. Don't worry about us, no one is forcing us to read your post or answer your post.

As far as your question goes I don't have the foggiest clue but I am sure we have some people here that can answer your question. And welcome to the forum.

1/2 ton trucks are generally not recommended for campers. Most 3/4 ton  trucks are not recommended either.
Since you want a bathroom/shower, you will be looking at 2000lbs., or more.
Take a look at this site, http://www.truckcampermagazine.com/truck-campers-buyers-guide/. You will see a few pop ups that scale under 2000lbs., but most don't have a bath room, black or grey water tanks and are minimal in every way.

http://www.lancecamper.com/truck-campers/825/

this seems to support small trucks and has shower/toilet as well

can you guys review? if this is good option

My BIL has an 825 on his new 3/4 ton Dodge. Loaded up he is at 3000lbs, a little under 1000lbs overweight and he says it is a white knuckle experience.