EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV  (Read 481 times)

DickHutchings

  • ---
  • Posts: 219
Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« on: June 13, 2017, 02:34:47 PM »
I may or may not do this but is it possible to add the second one and have the ability to choose which one is on. I live in a CG with 30A service so I can't run them together.
2016 Montana High Country 375 FL
For sale due to medical problems.

HueyPilotVN

  • ---
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 03:19:05 PM »
Years ago I had a Dutch Star that had only one AC and it had 30 amp service.

I added a second AC unit positioned using the rooftop vent in the kitchen.

I ran the electric supply romex cable down the refer vent into a storage bin.

To use the second unit I simply plugged into a second dedicated supply at a second outlet at the campsite, usually a 15 amp next to the 30 amp outlet.

The second AC unit had its own set of controls in the overhead part of the AC unit.

Using this method I did use both AC units at the same time because the second AC was the only thing on the 15 amp circuit.

I hope that answers your question.

Edit:

I thought I would add a few more comments.

The 14 X 14 common size roof vent will accept most all roof mounted AC units.

The non ducted or maybe I should say the ones that blow down directly into the room have the controls mounted on them and do not interface with your thermostat.  Therefore you can use either or both at the same time.

Good Luck.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2017, 03:36:03 PM by HueyPilotVN »
Bill Waugh
40' Country Coach DP
34' Stacker Trailer, Trailer Toad
Jeep Commander
Mustang Bracket Race Car
35 years on the road

Rene T

  • ---
  • Posts: 9855
  • Great being on the right side of the grass
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2017, 05:00:46 PM »
I did it 2 years ago. The front vent was prewired for 110 Volt AC. That's our bedroom. I purchased an AC that did not require attaching to existing AC ventilation duct. It also had it's own controls for the thermostat. Very simple to do. It does take 2 people. The hardest part was getting it onto the roof. I used a extension ladder as a guide and a rope to pull it up the ladder. That was my SIL's job. I did the guiding. Once it was on the roof, it was just a matter of installing the foam gasket on the bottom then lowering it into the hole.
Rene & Lucille & co-pilot Buddy
AKA  Pep N Mem
2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD 4X4
2011 Montana High Country 343RL
From the Granite State of NH
& Florida Snowbird in Lakeland FL

8Muddypaws

  • ---
  • Posts: 2240
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2017, 07:50:27 PM »
Your SIL must be a strong woman.  Mine won't even go up a ladder.   :)
Retired computer professional
Musician, songwriter and music director
2006 Bounder 34H, 2008 CR-V Toad

Rene T

  • ---
  • Posts: 9855
  • Great being on the right side of the grass
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2017, 09:14:03 PM »
Your SIL must be a strong woman.  Mine won't even go up a ladder.   :)

SIL = Son-In-Law.
But I have got one (sister in law)whot could probably be able to lift it.
Rene & Lucille & co-pilot Buddy
AKA  Pep N Mem
2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD 4X4
2011 Montana High Country 343RL
From the Granite State of NH
& Florida Snowbird in Lakeland FL

DickHutchings

  • ---
  • Posts: 219
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2017, 08:07:10 AM »
Thanks for the replies. I'm pretty sure I'm going to add one. My wife's concern is that if I install it myself that I may void the warranty.
2016 Montana High Country 375 FL
For sale due to medical problems.

hoddinron

  • ---
  • Posts: 350
    • My blog
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2017, 04:41:18 PM »
Suggest a low profile unit.  I have a fifth wheel that is 11'5" - roof level.  Adding the second AC added another 10 inches. 

Ron

Ron & Joyce - Retired
2012 Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel 2.73 axle
2016 Sabre 25 RL 5th Wheel

Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2017, 02:52:33 AM »
I am almost finished with my 83 Holiday Rambler remodel. I do have a second AC in the back. But it only seems to run on the generator. I was wondering if anybody knows if and how to run it on 110/220.

Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2017, 02:57:38 AM »
I wanted to throw my two bits in about the second air conditioner. I'm in California right now and the back gets really hot, you definitely need two air conditioners. My RV the 33 footer.

Rene T

  • ---
  • Posts: 9855
  • Great being on the right side of the grass
Re: Adding a second AC unit to prewired RV
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2017, 07:45:14 AM »
I am almost finished with my 83 Holiday Rambler remodel. I do have a second AC in the back. But it only seems to run on the generator. I was wondering if anybody knows if and how to run it on 110/220.

You should start your own post to get better exposure/coverage. A member out there may have the answer to your question but may not come back to this post.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2017, 07:47:08 AM by Rene T »
Rene & Lucille & co-pilot Buddy
AKA  Pep N Mem
2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD 4X4
2011 Montana High Country 343RL
From the Granite State of NH
& Florida Snowbird in Lakeland FL

 

Hosted by Over The Network