rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: AT&T Mobley is available again  (Read 6381 times)

timjet

• ---
Re: AT&T Mobley is available again
« Reply #90 on: November 21, 2017, 04:33:11 AM »
Good morning Tom, as others have mentioned the Mobley can be tether to a router via it's USB port. The cover on the Mobley's USB port makes it almost invisible. I'm no techie but as I've learned here and on other forums it seems that a router wired to a modem like the Mobley provides faster downloads and uploads than a wireless connection.

Correct me if I'm wrong but a router that will connect to a modem via a wireless connection is called a WiFi as WAN. It seems the big names in the business charge a bundle for these because they are not common ways of connecting a router to a modem so it's a nitch market. For me I got a Mobley because the plan is cheap and I don't want to spend a bundle to allow the Mobley to connect to more than 5 devices. There are cheap WiFi as WAN routers on Amazon and Isaac-1 posted one and went to great lengths getting it to connect tethered to the Mobley. He even posted the step by step instruction on another forum.

But it's been my experience with cheap Chinese electronics that they don't last or require constant fiddling to keep working. Sometimes the instructions if any with these things leave more than a lot to be desired. And their grammar can be comical. I haven't decided which router I'm going to get and it sounds like the nano has served you well.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 04:35:47 AM by timjet »
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition DP 40', 1.5 bath
'14 Honda CRV

NY_Dutch

• ---
  • We go where our wheels take us!
« Reply #91 on: November 21, 2017, 07:31:33 AM »
I am doing USB Tethering on my Mobley using the cheaper GL iNet MT300N-V2 $20 on amazon https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B073TSK26W