Do RV parks allow vans (not class B vans, just regular vans) to stay in RV lots?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

e6fan12345

Hello everyone, due to many circumstances, mainly to get a fresh start, I'm relocating from Kentucky to Fort Lauderdale, Florida, somewhere I've always wanted to be.

I'm very new to the RV lifestyle. I've read a couple really good books about it in the last month, but overall I'm pretty much a complete newbie to it.

While I have *some* money saved up, I don't have enough to get an RV. My plan is to fly down to Ft. Lauderdale, buy a used van and get insurance for it and all that, and then stay temporarily in it (2 to 3 months) at an RV park until I can get up enough money and then switch to a decent used RV.

Of course, my question is do RV parks allow regular vans in their lots as they allow RVs to? I'll pay the monthly fee for my space and everything, but I don't know if they allow regular vans to stay there.

Any help is very much appreciated.

The only way to find out is find a park and call them. IMHO if the van is in good shape and not a rust bucket destined for a junk yard soon, I don't see why not. Now the higher priced campgrounds, probably not.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

Some do and some don't
Some are so "high class" that they don't even let travel trailers under 25 feet in and some don't let older trailers in.

Your best bet is like the post above says; just call ahead.

Jack L

Nobody is going to inspect your van inside to see if it is equipped as an RV or not. Just say you have a van-conversion RV when & if the park asks the RV type.

Why Ft Lauderdale?  RV parks are relatively few in the Ft Lauderdale area, and rather pricey as well.  They don't call that "Florida's Gold Coast" for nothing!  You would have better prospects in other parts of Florida that are less upscale, crowded and expensive.