New rv owner electric trouble

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimsdandy

Hi all
Im new to the RV world.  Bought a 2001 pace arrow 36b and have lots of questions
Big problem now is 120 volt lights on ceiling of slideout above couch not working no power at wires in fixtures.  Where does the power wire come into the slideout at  cant trace it
Most everything else seems to work so far all outlets and such
Thanks 

jimsdandy said:
Hi all
Im new to the RV world.  Bought a 2001 pace arrow 36b and have lots of questions
Big problem now is 120 volt lights on ceiling of slideout above couch not working no power at wires in fixtures.  Where does the power wire come into the slideout at  cant trace it
Most everything else seems to work so far all outlets and such
Thanks
Are you sure the lights are 110 Volt AC. Most RV lights are 12 Volt DC. I did have one RV that had one light that was 110 Volt AC. That one, the wiring was under the RV floor. Had to drop the belly to get to it. On the RV I have now, the wiring is under the slide out.

Rene T said:
Are you sure the lights are 110 Volt AC. Most RV lights are 12 Volt DC.

There are (were) RVs built that have lots of 120V lighting; I know because we own one.  It's not common, but it's a very nice feature because we have far more available light than is possible in most RVs we have seen.

Any, if the OP has 120V lighting in his slideout the chances are that it comes in through the basement.  That's how mine is wired.  But I'm concerned that you said that the outlets are working.  If the outlets in the slide are working but the lighting is not that might indicate a different problem since I doubt there's more than one cable feeding power into it.

Did you check all your fuses and circuit breakers?

Did they ever work or just stop working recently?