Roof sealant advice requested. Silicon on shower skylight?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VaDreamer

I am looking to buy an older (2005) Fleetwood Excursion that according to the original sales brochure uses the Royal Tuff-Ply (TPO?) roofing material. The current original owner has never done anything to the roof, but for most of its life, was stored inside when not in use, so I feel like this must have contributed to its apparent longevity. I have inspected the roof and there are cracks evident in the lap sealant, but absolutely no evidence of any leaks inside. In addition, the skylight over the shower has what looks like a ton of silicon sealant around the edge.

With no evidence of leaking inside, I am thinking about going ahead with the deal, but would like to get the thoughts and opinions of other members here first.

I am fairly new to owning motor homes, but did own a 1999 Coachman for about 3 years, until a deer decided it was worth his life for me to not have it anymore.  ::) It had significant roof sealant issues and I want to avoid that at all cost this time.

If we do the deal, I plan to reseal the coach as soon as I get it home, but would like to know what others on here think.

Everything I have read said that silicon on a roof is a no no, but the owner says he did not put it on there. Would a dealer do this? He says as far as he knows, it has been that way since he bought it. Do they make clear roof sealant that ?looks? like silicone? I did not actually touch it, so cannot say for sure it is silicon, but it sure looked like it and it was really gobbed on there. If it does turn out to be silicone, I have some silicone remover, but will it damage the roof?