Flat towing 2017 Jeep Wrangler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Boptop

I'm in the process of setting up a 2017 Jeep Wrangler to tow behind my 2005 Winnebago 29R Class A with Ford V10. I will be towing from Florida to Wyoming and back this Aug/Sept. I have decided on the Blue Ox base plate BX1126 but have not decided on a tow bar. After exhausted studying I've narrowed it down to two. The Blue Ox Aventa LX BX7445 and ReadyBrute Elite. I'm leaning towards the ReadyBrute because of the cable braking system. I really want to get feed back as this is my first time flat towing. Also, is the Winnebago 29R more the adequate to tow the Wrangler or will it be a struggle. Thank you!

Hi Boptop. The "Trim curb weight" of a 2017 Jeep Wrangler is listed at 4291 lbs, but some are heavier, depending on how they're equipped. I believe your receiver-hitch is rated at 5000 lbs, but you should confirm that. The 2005 29R spec-sheet says actual towing capacity will be dependant on the coach's actual weight, so if yours is on the heavy side (like most are) you may not be able to tow 5000 lbs and be within limits. Only you know how much "stuff" you're carrying. In any case, you're definitely near the limit. I'm glad you're looking at supplimental braking systems. They should be mandatory for towing IMO.

Kev

Kevin is correct with his advice, however if you are able to tow you can also consider an after market front bumper with tow points.

Thank you for the advise. I didn't think the actual towing weight was going to be a issue. I was more concerned about the power of the Ford V10 and how much drag towing the jeep would put on it. Sounds like I'll need to do some research on towing capacity.