First trailer for a new Volvo XC90 T8 - 5000 lb wt limit

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
grashley said:
Very specifically, the GVWR of 6355# is the most your fully loaded car is designed to carry.  This includes the car and all contents.

The CCC, by definition = GVWR - curb wt of car.  Curb wt includes a full tank of gas and all factory options.

The CCC is exactly what it says.  The total combined weight of all passengers, pets, car seats, snacks, toys, other cargo, hitch and TT hitch wt shall not exceed 1200#.

Sometimes we get ahead of ourselves in what we say and what we intend to mean....CCC means CargoCarryingCapacity and refers to the 1200 lbs of passengers and cargo the vehicle is rated to carry, not the 6355 lb GVW.  Just want to set the record straight.

I am a private pilot so am aware of weight, CG, and such but have never had to think that way for a vehicle. Today I am going to look at the two Winnebagos lines that might work for me.  A bit more expensive but it appears they are better built.

Again this is where I get confused. The dry weight of their 21 ft is only 3800 lbs even though it can carry an enormous amount of cargo. Should this concern me since I generally travel ?light??

Instead of using the dry weight of 3800 lbs, consider using the GVWR of the TRAILER and base the tow vehicle load on that. (ie 10-12%). This is the maximum weight the trailer is designed to carry and in doing so will it give you a good safety margin. Every reader will interpret an "enormous amount of cargo" and "travelling light" differently.

No one drags around a dry weight (ie empty) trailer!!!

Larry, Thank you. Poor word choice by me.  I meant ... the most your fully loaded car is designed to weigh.

Dochands,
When you fly, do you use the empty weight of your plane to determine if you are within weight limits, or do you use the loaded weight?