Campground Jams?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Urban Hillbilly

We are new to RVing. We get our trailer this Thursday, so not even on the road yet.

I'm a musician, piano player/singer with a portable/digital piano. Do people get together at campgrounds and play music together just for fun. How about Sunday gospel get togethers? Is this even allowed?

A friend's dad's barbershop quartet has gotten together a couple of times on camping trips to practice. They did gather somewhat of a crowd and even took a few requests! I've never seen any other type of impromptu get together but I'm sure they happen.

They happen, just not often enough.  We've been to a couple of RV parks that have organized jams every week.  Check the bulletin board. 

The best jams are the ones that happen in the parking lots of music festivals.

when we stayed at Gamble Rogers State Park in FL, I remember them telling us at check in of a planned jam session.  We didn't get teh chance to attend so I can't comment on how it goes.  I think it was a regular thing.....since Gamble Rogers was a musician.
This is the only one I'm aware of....

If you put your keyboard outside and quietly played, you would attract listeners. Some of those folks might be musicians who would join. I have a friend who is a good guitarist (not a pro), and he generally attracts listeners who end up singing with him in addition to listening. Not as challenging as a jam with other musicians, but he enjoys it. If you are a long term camper, put up a sign in the clubhouse. I bet you would find other interested folks. Just don't play too loud or play too late.

Thanks for the input. We are new, pick up our trailer this Thursday, so I don't know the protocol for this kind of thing. I certainly don't want to raise a ruckus.