Weight distribution hitches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sweeney153

I am new to the TT  world and have not towed very much. The only thing i have towed is my boat which is very light and i only tow it 2 miles.
We bought a travel trailer. Its an Argosy 33'  6,000 lbs and 600 lbs tongue weight. I towed it home and it was squirrelly. if i went over 45 it swayed all over the place. I know i need a weight distribution hitch and sway control. I was offered a setup that is rated for 10,000 lbs and 1,000 lbs tongue weight. is this OK or do i need an exact match. i think a little bigger would be better.

You want one rated above or the same as what you are towing.
Also they may not make an exact match so basically bigger is better.

Even w/o the WDH the sway would indicate you don't have enough weight in the front of the trailer.

Yes, the 10,000# / 1000# hitch will work fine for the trailer. 

Is the 6000# the dry weight or the GVWR?

Once you get all your gear loaded, put your passengers in the tow vehicle and take the set up to a CAT Scale and weigh it.  Do an internet search to find a CAT scale near you.  At the scale put the front tires on one scale, the rear wheels on the 2nd scale and the trailer on the 3rd scale.  Then unhook the trailer and re-weigh the TV to find your hitch weight. 

12% hitch weight is better than 10%, but it should be between 10% & 15%.

A 33' trailer is a long one.  What are you using to pull it?  The problem my by that you don't have enough truck even when a weight distribution hitch is a must.

Yes you need a weight distribution hitch.  It will help your TV carry the load.
I'm dubious that a 33' trailer is 6k.  Granted it may be close to that weight empty from the dealer.