Ford F53 shifting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Len2

Hi, I have been monitoring this forum for about the last 4 years while we were deciding on full timing. We have bit the bullet and are now on our first, what we call, big trip. The RV Forum has helped us with many decisions and we appreciate the information we have found along the way. Many thanks.

We have a 35 foot 2013 Itasca Sunstar. It is on a Ford F53 chassis with the V10 engine. I don't know what transmission. I have a question about something I noticed while driving from Austin, Texas to Chama, NM. If I was using cruise control the transmission shifted as I expected it to. However, a couple of times I had to brake going up hill and when I accelerated with the pedal to the floor the transmission didn't shift down. I made it up the hill OK, slowly, but I thought it strange it didn't shift down. I only saw this 2 times so I haven't had a chance to experiment much but the second time I did try to really push on the accelerator to get it to shift and it didn't. My question is, is this something I should be concerned with? a follow-on question is how does the transmission shift? Is it all computer controlled or is there some linkage and/or vacuum assist. I am thinking some linkage is out of adjustment. Thanks for any help or comments.

Len

Difficult to say without determining what gear & rpm range it was in at the time. The Ford tranny shifts to maintain rpms in the peak hp-torque range when under max load. If it was already in that range, it doesn't shift just because you push the pedal harder. Basically, if it is already doing the best it can, nothing changes.  Do you recall the tach readings at that time?

Most motorhomes don't accelerate well under the circumstances you described. The move far more weight per horsepower than a car, so acceleration on a steep grade is lacking.