EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig  (Read 317 times)

pz

  • ---
  • Posts: 49
Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« on: July 17, 2017, 03:39:53 PM »
Actually the original RV A/C unit plus a portable heat pump we're using as the additional A/C unit.

My method is not exactly pretty, but it required minimum work to get it operational. There are now two ways to connect the second A/C unit to the park power supply:
  • Using the existing 30A cable and a second 20A cable - I added an additional NEMA L5-30R power inlet. I understand this might not be usable in all parks because the 20A and 30A park sockets are wired on the same 3Aa source.
  • Using a new 50A power cord and a "Y" splitter adapting the 50A cord to two 30A plugs, then to the rig
I left the original 30A circuit RV completely alone and added the second power inlet to serve a single new socket inside the rig (in the same area as the power inlets are located). That socket is protected with a 20A marine breaker, and I deliberately chose a round socket so the wife will always know that anything plugged into the round socket is on the new circuit.

We now plug the 12,500 BTU heat pump into that dedicated circuit, and have the vent for the portable unit ducted outside the window where the unit is located.

We tried it out on a run to Orifino Idaho on the Clearwater river where the temperature was 105 degrees.  We were very comfortable in our newly equipped rig with both cooling units running.
PZ
----
2011 Rockwood 8288SS
2012 Ram 3500 6.7L Cummins

sunfighter

  • ---
  • Posts: 41
Re: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 04:54:19 PM »
Clever... I like thinking outside the box.
"Leaning in a heavy wind that no one else can feel"

2007 Gulf stream Independence triple slide. and 2005 Gulf Stream Independence triple slide

pz

  • ---
  • Posts: 49
Re: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2017, 11:53:18 AM »
Thanks sunfighter  ;)
PZ
----
2011 Rockwood 8288SS
2012 Ram 3500 6.7L Cummins

Kevin Means

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 3748
    • Tactical Flying
Re: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2017, 11:59:01 AM »
I think that's darn clever. Looks like fine workmanship to me. I especially like the way you vented it out the window.

Kev
2011 Winnebago Tour 42QD
Towing a Jeep Rubicon Unlimited LJ or an Acura MDX
RVI Brake 2, Minder TM-66 TPMS, 970 watts of solar
(Can't wait to spend more time RVing)
Lakeside, California

pz

  • ---
  • Posts: 49
Re: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2017, 04:06:03 PM »
Thanks Kev - I'm headed to the Columbia Valley one of these days soon, and now I don't have to listen to the missus giving me a bad time for an under-cooled rig  ;D
PZ
----
2011 Rockwood 8288SS
2012 Ram 3500 6.7L Cummins

SMR

  • ---
  • Posts: 566
Re: Running 2 AC units in my 30A rig
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2017, 04:35:35 PM »
very clean install- I like the round plug idea.  happy wife......
Gonna put the world away for a minute......
Steve
2016 Bighorn 3760 EL
2015 Ford F350
me, DW and our 2 dogs

 

Hosted by Over The Network