Generator Problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DItR

Hey Everyone,
I have a 1987 Travel Master with an Onan 6.5 NHE Genset. When we first got the RV about 4-5 years ago, the genset didn't even work. Broke one of our own rules and bought a RV without a working generator. Try to make it a short story.
It runs but it can only run one major appliance at a time. We can run one of the air conditioning units with the microwave but it really bogs down. Try to run the other AC unit with the other and it kills the genset. I put a volt & frequency meter on it and at idle it's running 129v and 60Hz. Turn on one AC unit and the volts drop down to about 115v. Can't remember the exact Hz but it's somewhere around 55-57Hz. Try putting on a bigger load and it just bogs down even further. Tried to adjust the governor but I can put the throttle to the "floor" and the rpm's, volts, Hz, they don't increase. The fuel line is hard as a rock so I'm going to replace that all the way back to the tank in case there is a crack letting air in somewhere. But what else could it be?
Here's a list of things that I have replaced on it since we got it:
rebuilt the carb then tuned it
fuel pump
air filter
control board
bridge rectifier
emptied fuel tank, poured 6-8 bottles of carb cleaner and let it sit, poured in 5 gals gas, ran it through & filled the tank with fresh gas (it has it's own fuel tank)
plugs
ignition coil
converted to electronic ignition
the hour meter doesn't work but it reads 250hrs. the genset has never ran for very long so we have probably put 5hrs on ourselves

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
John

Hi John,