COMPLETE NOVICES

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

normhubbard

We're retiring - finally - and are pursuing a path of RVing for our years ahead; hopefully utilizing a 5W TH (we ride a HD). All we have so far is a 2017 Chev 2500HD (V8 gas) - and the HD we've had for sometime. Currently living in Tucson AZ - we'll be heading back to our home state of CO. We'll be searching for the right 5W TH (size wise) - and are already bewildered by the multitude of choices and pricing. Have been warned by everyone in the know - DO NOT ever buy new and beware of ALL RV DEALERS. So - finding exactly what we need for the best price appears to be daunting; but we're in no hurry. We've got friends that have and are RVing - but we have not ourselves...ever. Disappointingly - we're being told that we should have a 3500HD/dually  - and the 2500HD is barely able - if at all - to accommodate a 5W TH of the size we need (30-35). Wonderful! :-\ We may have to abandon our plans of RVing altogether. Marvelous! :'(

A 3/4 ton truck will haul an awful lot of travel trailers. Expand your sight from just 5Ws. Look for a big toy hauler trailer, one of the ones with more storage than most. They do exist.

And welcome to the forum.

Toy haulers are very nose heavy so you will be somewhat limited in the size of a 5th wheel toy hauler
Ie my voltage is 38 ft with a pin of 2800 lbs which is more than a 2500 can handle, you could look a t toy hauler bumper pulls also as an option or a smaller 5er toy hauler