Battery Type - Brand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

For Wheelin

Is anyone using Optima deep cycle RV batteries, and further, maintained by Solar?

I'm about to select a 150 watt solar panel kit and two new deep cycle batteries.  I was going to go with 6 volt batteries but I don't see a 6 volt option from Optima however.

Thanks,

I have no experience with Optima batteries, but it seems like I've read a lot of negative stuff about using them in RV's. Some of it here on this site if I remember correctly.

Hmm, I wasn't able to find anything.  I know they are great batteries, but haven't read any reviews.

I want to get sealed maintenance free AGM's.  I know Interstate Batteries makes them too. 

I wasn't able to find anything

Click the Search button above and use the search term 'Optima' (without quotes). You'll see a number of prior topics on the subject.

I've got an Optima in the Jeep, and it does a fine job with the Jeep's electrical consumption. IIRC, Optimas don't have a lot of Amp Hour capacity compared to other AGM batteries, and AH capacity is important when boondocking. I think our Optima has a 75 AH capacity.

We've got eight AGM house-batteries in our coach, and they're primarily maintained with solar when we're camping. (With AGM charge-settings) Each battery has a 105 AH capacity, which is significantly more than the Optima.

Kev

Hi For Wheelin,

This lady has been using Optimas for quite a few years: http://rvsueandcrew.net/about-my-solar-set-up/the-batteries/

I used to follow her blog pretty closely until 2-3 years ago and  I don't remember her reporting any troubles, but you might want to check with her directly.

OTOH, please excuse my curiosity, but why not go with the one of widely tried & true options  from Trojan, Lifeline, etc?

Cheers,
--
  Vall.