rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Yamaha digital drum kit  (Read 795 times)

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 45979
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Yamaha digital drum kit
« on: July 23, 2017, 04:38:02 PM »
Yesterday I visited the nearest Guitar Center and bought the Yamaha DD65 portable digital drum kit. Like a number of Yamaha "portable" products, the AC adapter was an additional $30. The intent was to add the drum kit to the tricked-out basement at our part-time townhouse in OH, set up for grandkids.

Easy/quick setup of the kit, plugged in my headphones, and a big disappointment! They couldn't be heard without the volume turned right up, and then only with some selected 'drum kits'. Not what I expect from Yamaha (I have 3 of their keyboards and a couple of their guitars). Returned it for a refund today.

Reviews on this product are generally very good. Anyone else own or have experience with one of these kits?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 04:39:42 PM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Rene T

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 12261
  • Every day is payday and every payday I have off
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2017, 04:47:27 PM »
Tom, is there anything you can't play?   :o ::)
Rene, Lucille & co-pilot Buddy
AKA  Pep N Mem
2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD 4X4
2011 Montana High Country 343RL
From the Granite State of NH
& Florida Snowbird in Lakeland FL

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 45979
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 04:53:54 PM »
LOL Rene. I wish I could play drums, although I can't resist sitting down at semi-high-end Roland drum sets whenever I visit a Guitar Center. In my youth, I really wanted to play drums, but family finances meant I had to settle for pots and pans. Whenever friends in bands played locally, I'd find a way to get backstage and convince the drummer to let me "play" his drums before the band went on stage.

Coincidentally, I have a client who manufactures individual drums and kits for the pro drummer market. Haven't thought of asking him if I could play some of his products. OTOH I might be too scared of damaging something.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 06:44:14 AM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 12703
  • Good things are illegal immoral or over 1000 watts
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2017, 05:17:15 PM »
This is the one I have been drooling over:

https://www.amazon.com/Carlsbro-CSD130XXX-Electronic-Drum-Set/dp/B00M3YZQNW/ref=sr_1_9?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1500848060&sr=1-9&keywords=electronic+drum+set

Unfortunately I really don't have enough room here to set it up. Maybe I should disassemble the rock band drum set I have set up and rarely use. I can't use the rock band set as a normal set because there is a delay in the signal. Can't keep a steady beat with a 1/4 second delay. There is no delay when it is run through the Rock Band software.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Favorite 2017 shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/y0HbMU5KYa2hx02E3
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7
My Grand Canyon shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Nc1AT8tQp25wJwfm1

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 12703
  • Good things are illegal immoral or over 1000 watts
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2017, 05:18:51 PM »
Or you could run the set you have through something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IOSJ68C/ref=twister_B01BZTGNDC?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Favorite 2017 shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/y0HbMU5KYa2hx02E3
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7
My Grand Canyon shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Nc1AT8tQp25wJwfm1

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 45979
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2017, 05:31:06 PM »
Quote from: SeilerBird
This is the one I have been drooling over .... Unfortunately I really don't have enough room here to set it up.

Space is not an issue here, but $$$ price is. I'd like to buy the Roland TD50KV set for my personal use, but not for grandkids. I'd probably have the TD50KV set at our CA home, since we have more room and fewer/no HOA issues there.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 06:48:57 PM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 45979
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2017, 05:32:13 PM »
Quote from: SeilerBird
Or you could run the set you have through something like this:

Thanks, but I no longer have it.
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 12703
  • Good things are illegal immoral or over 1000 watts
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2017, 05:46:42 PM »
The one I linked to is only $30 more than the one you bought.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Favorite 2017 shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/y0HbMU5KYa2hx02E3
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7
My Grand Canyon shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Nc1AT8tQp25wJwfm1

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 45979
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Yamaha digital drum kit
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2017, 06:25:06 PM »
And the one I returned. I was looking for someone who bought &/or used the Yamaha DD65
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.