A/C unit issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cmdrtron

Hi, I'm a newbie here. not sure this is the right spot for this. but here goes.

So I'm living in my 29' Fleetwood Terry trailer while I build my house. I was running on a Generator for a few months while I waited for the power company to hook up my lot. It hadn't been hot enough to run the A/C but one day the Gen was acting up and was getting an over voltage warning and shutting down. it's only a 2000 watt Honda gen. I didn't thing I would be running on a Gen this long. so after some searching I shut off the A/C breaker and everything was fine. I just had my 30 amp breaker with RV plug and tried to run the A/C. it worked for a few minutes then tripped the breaker. what I did notice is that now when the breaker is closed the A/C unit turns on even when the thermostat switch is in the off position. I ran the furnace all winter with out any issues and now this has started happening. I'm stumped as to what the issue might be and where to look. Does anyone here have any ideas of what might be the issue? what I can replace? Thanks in advance for any help.

Troy.

Hard to say without further testing and measurement.  Over-voltage is usually a regulator problem in the genset, not excessive load. Are you sure the code was specifically "over voltage" and not just "overload"? Those are quite different.

The Honda 2000 simply lacks enough power to get an a/c through its compressor start-up cycle, so it is likely the genset overloads almost every time the a/c compressor kicks in. It's sustained power output is just 1600 watts and your a/c is probably 1300-1400 watts continuous and 2x-3x that for a couple seconds every time the compressor starts.