Question on brake controller

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RVRAC

I recently bought an American Dolly with the brake controller.  I am new at this and am concerned that whenever I hit the brakes it feel like a clunck or a thump like the brakes in the dolly are holding the whole thing.  I contacted the manufacturer who told me it is normal as it is time delay system.  Does this sound right?  Any suggestions?

That's normal. The electric brakes don't come on slow like you pushing on the pedal in your car. The ones on the dolly either go on or off. There is no gradual anything.

I guess that you are talking about the dolly that carries the front wheels of a car.  The one shown on the American Car Dolly website is a basic cheap piece of timer controlled junk.  You should install a proportional controller on the tow vehicle.

Before I went to flat towing I had a proportional controller that was adjustable for the load.  It could sense if I was going up hill or downhill and braked accordingly.  When I set the sensitivity correctly it braked far better than what I have now for my flat towing.  It seems you need a better controller.

Gotta agree with lynnmor - the EZ brake controller sold with the American dollies may be simple to connect up but the function is decidedly basic, neither proportional nor adjustable.  They tout "no need to adjust", but [in my opinion] that's more of a shortcoming than a feature.

So the answer to your question is probably Yes, that "sounds right" for what you have.  It is not, however, right for all brake controllers and not the "right" way to design a trailer brake system.

Your responses affirm what I have been thinking.  I need to think about a different controller.  Thanks.

Another thing to learn about!  This gave some basic info of the differences between time and proportional: