manufacturer/model help needed!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rhondalynn

I am new in the RV world and don't actually have one yet.  We are newly retired and want to do a few RV trips.  We are looking for a 5th wheel for basically 2 adults (and a large dog) .  We have been to several RV lots and looking at them used.  We want to buy used but newer  and shorter (30) RV!  My question is... can someone give me a list of  what manufactures/models are  the Upper... Middle... and Lower end  for durability. Or maybe a list of who to say away from???  Perhaps there is a list that I am looking for somewhere in the library but I just don't know the  correct wording for what I want.  It is SOOO hard to search thru all the models available and try to figure out what would be a good deal  to only have someone say.. oh that one is not a very good quality RV.    I realize that everyone is different and thinks their RV is fabulous  but surely there is somewhere that can give me guidelines.  This forum has been great to read.

This question is nearly impossible to answer. Every single manufacturer will have issues with their products. I've owned Forest River, Thor, and KZ products and they have all been relatively trouble free. Somebody else might comment that they've owned the same units and had nothing but problems.

A blanket statement that I will make is to advise you to stay away from anything with "lite" in it's name. They are cutting corners in a lot of places to save weight. Cutting corners often lead to reliability issues.

On used RV's, the kind of maintenance its received can be more important than the brand or model. A unit with good up to date maintenance records can well be worth a premium price compared to another unit that was only cleaned up enough to sell.