Tow Mirrors - 5th Wheel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

towhee

We are new, full timers. Picked up this 2011 Arctic Fox 245N and had no problems 200 miles home, and not too much trouble backing the 5er. (I've got some experience pulling different types of trailers and driving parking a school bus.) Our truck is 2500 Chey 4X4 Diesel Turbo regular bed with Stock Mirrors. QUESTION: Are Tow Mirrors needed? (It seems a must to be safe.) I started researching clip on mirrors as in cipa or Y Source, but they seem to be worthless. I've been looking at Aftermarket Mirrors: Kool View and SYPPO ($100/pair) and some say good but won't auto fold. And Lastly the add on OEM Mirrors at $400 each and they don't fold either but auto telescope. QUESTION: What's the WORD on this stuff? What experiences have you all had with Towing Mirrors?
Thanks, all views appreciated!
towhee

Needed? No.
I dont have an RV, but I wouldn't want regular mirrors ever again. I can see so much in my mirrors. Plus they can extend if necessary. I could see them being very helpful with a trailer though.

I am surprised that your truck doesn't have tow mirrors. I have never seen this with a diesel truck that is built to tow.
As far as needed?? You sure do. I have a 2014 GMC Duramax and can tow without pulling my mirrors out, but I can't clearly see the total length of trailer to the rear bumper without the mirrors out..

Stan

I used the CIPA slip-on mirrors on two prior trucks - 1999 and 2002 Silverados. I liked them. They slipped on and off easily, had very little vibration, and gave me good vision down the side of the trailers. I'd recommend giving them a try.