Water leak?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ip076

So, while looking into modifying my 5er's basement a little to gain some storage, I'm wondering if I have a leak in the water heater.

I can hear a "ticking" sound, almost like water dripping on steel or aluminum.  The pump will run for about 3 seconds out of every 45 or so.  The ticking will go away, eventually returning, and after few seconds the pump kicks on and the cycle continues.  Being a newbie, I'm not sure if this is normal or not, but it doesn't seem like it should be normal to me. 

Any thoughts?

This is not normal. Once the pump shuts off, if the system has no leaks, it will not turn on again until the pressure drops. If it's starting without opening any faucets, either the check valve at the pump which stops the pressure from going back into the fresh water tank is leaking by or you have a leak someplace. Time to start investigating.

Thank you.

Do you think the noise from the water heater has anything to do with it, or is that coincidental?

I should add I have not found any evidence of water anywhere.  There are no leaks under the RV.  I've noticed the water pressure at my kitchen sink isn't what I thought it would be, but I chalked that up to an RV thing versus a house thing.  I wonder if maybe the pump itself is bad.  I'll look for the check valve.  Any idea where I might find that?  there are only two lines into the pump, and they both come from the water connection panel.