Ezpass with a toad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mike69rr

I am new to towing a toad(all 4 down) I applied for a Ezpass transponder for my Tiffin Allegro Bus, commercial transponder due to the weight of the coach), for those with a similar towing situation as mine, do you also have a transponder for your toad?

Thanks,
Mike

I have three.  One for the motorhome by itself.  one for the motorhome towing the toad,  and one in the toad just for driving the toad.  Only use one at a time and keep the others in their little bag so I don't get charged twice when towing.

Thanks for the info. One question, The transponder for your motorhome when you are towing, is it based on combined weight of toad and motorhome?

Thanks,

Mike

What OldRadios wrote.  Just went through this in NY.  The toad has a transponder (has be in the bag while being towed).  Two transponders for the MH.  One when alone and the other while towing.  I had to do the same thing for my PU years ago, for a trailer.
Yes, based on the combined weight.  I think the break is at 7,000 lbs. That was the question I got when I called for the transponder to use while towing.

That's why I opened my EZ Pass account in Rhode Island. You can have vehicles in excess of 7,500 pounds on a personal account without needing a commercial account.

Thank for this thread. I was just getting ready for a trip back east, and wondering how EZPass worked with RV and a Toad.

Same question with SunPass in Florida. Anyone know if the same method works there?

With Florida's Sunpass system you register each vehicle's plate (powered and trailer) in your account, then you associate a transponder with a powered vehicle. So with three powered vehicles and a trailer we have four registered plates and three transponders.