Excessive Power Consumption

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chaz1040

I have been living full time in a 2002 40 foot motorhome for the last year. For the last year my power bill has averaged 1300 kWh per month ($130 per month at 11c per kWh). There has been very little difference between summer and winter. I live near Seattle, WA.
My hot water tank is always on propane only.
I never use power for heat.
All my lights are LED or compact fluorescent.
The fridge is on AC
I have been using the electric dryer for the last 4 months and it made a 10% difference on the power bill.
When I switch off the inverter/charger unit at the breaker panel in the motorhome the power meter on the pole slows to a trickle. There is nothing else on the power meter except the motorhome.
I have a 50 amp plug with an adapter plugged into a 30 amp outlet.
Does this seem excessive?

Seems excessive to me. Can you have power company do a meter check or audit? Might pay to buy a kill-o-watt and check everything that runs on 120. Our sticks and brick was $119 last month @ .12 kw. Air conditioner (2 1/2 ton) ran 10-12 hrs a day. Did quite a bit of welding - plasma cutting in shop on a project last month(same meter). Electric clothes dryer. Electric range.  All led lights. 3 refrigerators and deep freeze. Year round average, $70-80 month.

Ya, what jubileee says. I'm at home. I run 2 large AC's every day for 14 hours and everything else and my bill was $130 last month. The Kill-A-Watt meter is a nice tool.

https://www.amazon.com/P3-P4400-Electricity-Usage-Monitor/dp/B00009MDBU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1501827505&sr=8-1&keywords=kill-a-watt

We use ac extensively (stay quite cool in FL) and run everything on ac that we can. Our bill varies between $100 and $120 per month. Note that we have three slides, including one full body so its a big 37 foot MH.

Ernie