What to tow and how and with what?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DonTom

With my RV that is listed below, if I were to tow a vehicle  behind it, which would be the best setup to do such? I have NO experience towing anything behind a RV of any type. But I have several  vehicles to chose from, some are front wheel drive (such as my old 1996 Saturn-standard tranny) and I also have a couple of old (1997 & 1999) 4WD Jeep Grand Cherokees.

I assume the several other rear wheel drive vehicles I own, with automatic transmissions,  are out of the question, but I also assume the three I listed above  are possibilities.

-Don-  Auburn, CA

The jeeps will tow as long as they have manual transfer cases.

As far as the best set up, thats kind of a ford or chevy question. everyone has their fav's.

My suggestion would be to shop around and find a set up at the price you like. I would look for one that has self centering arms as they are much easier to hook up and disconnect. If you have a RV hop you like, go with what they sell and will install.

You can also watch Craigslist and usually find a used towbar and possibly brake, then order your base plate to match it.

It's not really a complicated thing, if you don't want to do it yourself the shop that installs it will show you the ropes.

I would not totally rule the other vehicles out, since a few RWD cars are towable without mods (depends on the transmission design), and any of them can be modded for towing with a drive line disconnect. You can look them up on the Motorhome Magazine towing guides at http://www.motorhome.com/download-dinghy-guides/

Your Tioga probably has a limited towing capacity, perhaps 3500 or 4000 lbs, so check that before deciding what car.

Gary RV_Wizard said: