1993 Jamboree "Searcher" value...How much?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

B737doc

1993 Jamboree "Searcher" motorhome I am contemplating purchasing from a neighbor...  59,000 miles on a Ford "big block" engine that he says runs excellent. Like new tires, and all the commodities, but says the roof DOES leak and will need repair, with minor water damage on the inside. We have agreed to meet on Sunday (I haven't actually seen the RV yet, just pictures).  He's asking $6000 for it....  How much is it gonna cost to have the roof fixed? Is it something I can do myself?  I am a commercial aircraft technician and lay a pretty mean bead of RTV LOL!  Advice from here would be instrumental in my decision....

Attachments

• IMG_2401.JPG
    IMG_2401.JPG
    128.1 KB · Views: 23
Try here, not the bible but a starting point. Add NO options in the pricing on NADA, insert mileage for gasoline engines (on newer models only) ...  Tires?? Check the Mfg. date on the tire itself, 5-7 years old max. (Fleetwood Jamboree Searcher)

http://www.nadaguides.com/RVs/1993/Jamboree

Can you fix it yourself?? Yes, for a minor leak if you can find it.  But... that begs the question, if simple, why did the owner not fix it ?? Replace the whole roof? Run, don't walk, away.

The problem is what appears to be a minor roof leak on an older RV can do a lot of damage by the time the water seeps through and becomes visible inside, particularly if the RV has a wood frame.  Mold and dry-rot can require complete replacement of entire sections of the wall and/or roof.

If the leak is in the cab-over area (they commonly leak around the front window and clearance lights) you can wind up tearing out the entire cab-over and rebuilding it.

I'm not trying to discourage you from buying this RV, just be aware that the repair may require substantially more than just caulking the roof seams.