Advice on new RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sandia

Hi folks, newbie here.

Looking for some advice. I have owned several travel trailers thru the years and 2 class A motor homes and one class C. The motor homes being mid 1980's models with gas engines.
We had a 2004 28' Airstream Classic, which we sold last year and also sold our F250 Super Duty.  Went to a 1/2 ton truck and bought a cheap 26' Flagstaff Micro Lite , which we absolutely can't stand.

So, here we are looking for another RV again. We have gone back to a 2500 Duramax and are looking for a larger travel trailer again.  We have been entertaining a 5th wheel but know very little about them.  So my question is, could you guys give us some guidance as to size, brand, etc.  Would like to stay around 30 to 35 ft.  We are not retired and use is vacations, weekends etc.

Apologize for the crazy long post. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Bob

Hi and Welcome

Perhaps the first thing to determine is the capacity of that new truck. You did not state what year it is but since 2007 or so the load capacity for many pickups has been stated on a yellow sticker located on the drivers door post.  It is the capacity of that specific truck and takes into account the trim levels etc as it came from the factory. You need this information before you start shopping for a trailer or a 5th wheel. 35 feet will likely be a bit much for a 2500 series truck.

That post is FAR from "crazy long" ... browse around here for awhile and you'll see what I mean.  ;)