Rear Motor Access Door Vetalation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bendts

1998 Fleetwood American Tradition - Rear Motor access door has no ventilation, just a 3 foot wide by 2-3 inch slot below the door. 

Seems like all the later/newer pushers have the door fully vented.  Would it be a good Idea to swiss-cheese this thing for more venting and add screen to keep out the debris?

Not currently having any heating issues - but seeing quite a few images of rear fires in these buses.

Thanks

The word vetalation in the subject line threw me for a second. I have zero experience in the vetelation department. ;D

Our CC Intrigue has no slots or screens or any rear ventilation, but has a side mount radiator. I have considered opening up the engine hatch before driving  and seeing if the under"hood" heat escapes, as opposed to our rear bedroom getting heat soaked.
Before cutting, consider propping it open somehow to see if it makes a difference.

Keep us posted as I would consider doing the same or similar.

If your engine temperatures are staying in the normal range, you have no worries.

Engine compartment fires occur when something fails. In fact, the most common cause isn't even the engine - it's a fire in the rear wheels hubs that stems from either bad wheel bearings or seized brakes, either of which can produce extreme heat at highway speeds. The driver doesn't notice the fire until it has spread upwards into the engine compartment and then its too late.

If you are concerned about an engine compartment fire, install a fire suppression system. Mac the Fire Guy, a retired state fire marshall, is an RV fire expert and offers products he feels will help reduce fire loss.
http://macthefireguy.com/