Checklist

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dmiller226

Being a newbie, I'm making myself a checklist to follow for setting up and taking down our camper from what I've either read or been taught about it. I don't want to find out the hard way that I've forgotten something. I would appreciate any advice for anything crucial (or not crucial, for that matter) that I may be missing or maybe even something that should be done earlier than I have it posted on the list. Thanks in advance!

Setup

Make sure level left to right ? leveling blocks if necessary.
Unhook from truck.
Level front to back.
Stabilizers down.
Hook up electricity (Make sure AC is off and breaker switch is off prior to plugging in.)
Turn on AC, refrigerator & hot water heater.
Hook up water connection.
Hook up sewer connection.
Hook up cable if supplied.
Open propane tank.
Check stove to flush propane lines.
Open awning.
Put water and deodorizer in black water tank.

Break Down

Close Awning
Make sure everything inside is secured for travel.
Turn off hot water heater, refrigerator and AC.
TV antenna down if used.
Close propane tank.
Drain and flush black water tank. Close drain valve.
Drain gray water tanks. Close drain valve.
Unhook sewer line.
Unhook water line.
Unhook cable.
Unhook electricity.
Stabilizers up.
Steps up.
Hook up to truck. Check lights.
Final walk around to double check for stray items and ensure everything is put away
Pull forward and collect leveling blocks if used.

Setup
Hook up water and bleed air out of lines to ensure water heater is full before turning on the water heater.
I always plugged into shore power before operating my stabilizers and slides. That makes it a bit easier on the battery.
Water in black tank good, deodorizer not really needed.

break Down
Kinda like above-I leave shore power plugged in until my slides were in, and the stabilizers were up.