Empty black tank after overnight trip?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KenCarol

I am new to RVing and came up with a question that I can't find in the search or library.
We are planning several quick overnight local trips to get used to the RV before we go on a longer adventure. About one trip a month for the next several months.
We probably will not accumulate much in the holding tanks with just the two of us overnight. Should I plan on putting enough water into the blank tank while I have the dump station available at the campsite? Or wait until a couple of trips and dump it after it accumulates?

KenCarol said:
I am new to RVing and came up with a question that I can't find in the search or library.
We are planning several quick overnight local trips to get used to the RV before we go on a longer adventure. About one trip a month for the next several months.
We probably will not accumulate much in the holding tanks with just the two of us overnight. Should I plan on putting enough water into the blank tank while I have the dump station available at the campsite? Or wait until a couple of trips and dump it after it accumulates?

I would dump at the dump station. No need to be hauling all that extra weight around. Once you're done dumping, add 5 gallons of water in the black tank to break up anything left behind after dumping and you'll be all ready for the next time you head out.

My thoughts are different than Rene's - with just two of you  and a single short overnight, I wouldn't dump. It will probably take 3-4 such overnights before the tank registers 1/4-1/2. At that point I'd fill it past 3/4 with water and dump. I would however be sure and dump prior to the longer trip.